LVRC Adult success at British Rowing

Indoor Championships 2015

Sunday 8th of Feb 2015 saw over 1300 athletes from around the country compete at the Lee Valley Velodrome in the Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park - London.

LVRC had 8 members attending in 2 relay teams. The men had an early start with a 5am rush southward! Whilst the women stayed over the night before, but by 10am - both sets of LVRC crews were ready to take on the might of GB, Leander and a host of other (scarily big) people.


Each crew had 3 rounds to fight it out - a 2k evenly split race (everyone doing 500m) then a 6 min dash done any which way before the final 2k all out final! - Both LVRC's went straight to PB's - the men setting a respectable 05:48.3 in the final (placing them 8th overall - and faster than one of the GB relay entries!).

The LVRC women fought equally hard, and produced a stunning final round 2k time of 07:04.1 - which included a truly magic moment, where GB's Katherine Grainger, Jess Eddie and Jess Leyden all got behind them, and willed them to push for home - The extra encouragement helped the girls go on to win the Bronze medal! 




  Adult members; contact any one of the Captaincy team for details on how to join our private Facebook group.  Share rowing photographs, coaching tips, social event information and stay in touch!